Book Review

Blog Tour: West by Edith Pattou

WEST

West.Pattou

About The Book:

Title: WEST (East #2)

Author: Edith Pattou

Pub. Date: October 23, 2018

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 528

Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Audible,  B&N, iBooks, TBD

In the sequel to the beloved high fantasy East, Rose sets off on a perilous journey to find her true love when he goes missing in a thrilling tale of danger, magic, adventure, and revenge.


When Rose first met Charles, he was trapped in the form of a white bear. To rescue him, Rose traveled to the land that lay east of the sun and west of the moon to defeat the evil Troll Queen. Now Rose has found her happily-ever-after with Charles—until a sudden storm destroys his ship and he is presumed dead. But Rose doesn’t believe the shipwreck was an act of nature, nor does she believe Charles is truly dead. Something much more sinister is at work. With mysterious and unstoppable forces threatening the lives of the people she loves, Rose must once again set off on a perilous journey. And this time, the fate of the entire world is at stake. 

Review: I can’t decide which book was better! Rose was definitely my favorite character, she’s smart, brave, and of course adventurous. It’s safe to say I loved the whole cast of characters in this book, we get more Neddy, Estelle, and some new characters that I grew fond of as well. Miss Pattou has such a way with words and I absolutely loved my time in this book. I don’t recall seeing ANY cuss words which is a huge bonus for me. Rose and Charles’ romance was very slow burn which I enjoyed as it allowed the book to focus more on Rose’s mission. I think I liked Rose’s character growth even more in this book, she had a son for one so She was basically in Momma Bear mode (bear pun not intended) throughout the whole book. The ending was so sweet and I couldn’t ask for any more. The book was fast paced, beautifully written, and I loved everything about it! Overall I gave this book a full 5 stars and I recommend it for fans of East and Norwegian fairytales.

FTC Disclaimer: I received this book in exchange for an honest review

East

About Book 1:

Title: EAST (East #1)

Author: Edith Pattou

Pub. Date: May 1, 2005

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook, audiobook

Pages: 507

Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Audible,  B&N, iBooks, TBD

Rose has always been different.

Since the day she was born, it was clear she had a special fate. Her superstitious mother keeps the unusual circumstances of Rose’s birth a secret, hoping to prevent her adventurous daughter from leaving home… but she can’t suppress Rose’s true nature forever.

So when an enormous white bear shows up one cold autumn evening and asks teenage Rose to come away with it–in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family–she readily agrees.

Rose travels on the bear’s broad back to a distant and empty castle, where she is nightly joined by a mysterious stranger. In discovering his identity, she loses her heart– and finds her purpose–and realizes her journey has only just begun.

Edith
About Edith:

Edith Pattou is the author of Ghosting, a contemporary novel for young adults, told in free verse. She also wrote three award-winning fantasy novels for young adults – East, a retelling of the Norwegian folk tale “East of the Sun and West of the Moon,” and the two Songs of Eirren, Hero’s Song and Fire Arrow. She is also the author of the New York Times bestselling picture book, Mrs. Spitzer’s Garden.

She was born in Evanston, Illinois, grew up in Winnetka, and was a teenager in the city of Chicago where she attended Francis W. Parker School. She completed her B.A. at Scripps College in Claremont, California where she won the Crombie Allen Award for creative writing. She later completed a Mastersdegree in English Literature at Claremont Graduate School, followed by a Masters of Library and Information Science at UCLA.

She has worked for a medical association, a clothing boutique, a recording studio, the Playboy Foundation, a public television station, a school library, two public libraries, two advertising agencies, and two bookstores.

She has lived in Chicago, Los Angeles, Denver, Durham, NC, Cambridge, England, Stockholm, Sweden, and currently resides with her husband, Charles, in Columbus, Ohio.

Website | Twitter | Facebook |Instagram | Goodreads

Giveaway Details:

3 Winners will receive a finished copy of WEST, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

10/15/2018-  HYPERLINK “https://rhythmicbooknerd.wordpress.com/” \t “_blank” Rhythmicbooktrovert- Review

10/16/2018- A Backwards Story- Interview

10/17/2018- Forever Lost in Literature- Review

10/18/2018- Mythical Books- Excerpt

10/19/2018- Patriotic Bookaholic- Excerpt

 

Week Two:

10/22/2018- Read. Eat. Love.- Review

10/23/2018- Dani Reviews Things- Excerpt

10/24/2018- Adventures and Reading- Review

10/25/2018-  HYPERLINK “http://www.bookhoundsya.net/” \t “_blank” BookHounds YA- Interview

10/26/2018- Jena Brown Writes- Review

 

Week Three:

10/29/2018-  HYPERLINK “https://acereadsblog.wordpress.com/” \t “_blank” Ace Reads- Excerpt

10/30/2018- Novel Novice- Excerpt

10/31/2018- All the Ups and Downs- Excerpt

11/1/2018-  HYPERLINK “http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/” \t “_blank” Rockin’ Book Reviews- Review

11/2/2018- Paws and Paperbacks- Review

 

Week Four:

11/5/2018-  HYPERLINK “http://smadasbooksmack.blogspot.com/” \t “_blank” Smada’s Book Smack- Review

11/6/2018- if the book will be too difficult- Excerpt

11/7/2018- Vesper Dreams- Excerpt

11/8/2018- Oh Hey! Books.- Review

11/9/2018- Two Chicks on Books- Excerpt

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: West by Edith Pattou”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s